

2025 Gulf Research Meeting

22nd-24th July 2025 University of Cambridge

Workshop No. 5

Great Power Competition in the Asia-Pacific: Challenges for Gulf Economic and Political Interests

Workshop Directors

Degang Sun (Director) Fudan University, China

Talmiz Ahmad (Director)Symbiosis International University, India

Tim Niblock (Director)
University of Exeter/Tsinghua
University, United Kingdom

Paper Presenters

Ayesha Alketbi

Zayed University, United Arab Emirates

Haifa AlMaashi

Independent Researcher, United Kingdom

Norafidah Ismail

Universiti Utara, Malaysia

Vorachai Israsena Pichitkanjanakul

Qatar University, Thailand

Shivali Lawale

Symbiosis School of International Studies, India

Xiaoyu Wang

Fudan University, China

Kazuto Matsuda

Middle East Council on Global Affairs, Japan

Robert Mogielnicki

Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington, United States of America

Alhuseein Nanaa

Independent Researcher, Malaysia

Erzsebet Nagyne Rozsa

University of Public Service, Hungary

Priyamvada Sawant

HSNC University, India

Umud Shokri

George Mason University, United States of America

Yu Ye

Institute of International Studies, Fudan University, China

Yuan Zhang

University of Exeter, China

Zhiqiang Zou

Fudan University, China

Ghulam Ali (recording)

Freelancer, China

Sara Bazoobandi (recording)

GIGA/ISPI, Germany

Gleb Doroshenko (recording)

Independent researcher, Russia

Andrei Shelkovnikov(recording)

Middle East Department of the Russian Council on International Affairs, Russia

Non-Paper Participants

Rana Abo Amra (NPP-5,6)

Cairo University, Egypt

Arif Kharadi (NPP-5)

University of Malaya, Malaysia

Stacie Devitt (NPP-5,12)

University of San Diego, United States

Mahdi Zaidan (NPP-5,9)

University of Sussex, United Kingdom

Rachel Ziemba (NPP-5)

New York University, United States

Dr. Comfort Ero (CMG-RTBL-NPP

5.6.7.12)

President & CEO, International Crisis Group (ICG)

Hana Jalloul (CMG; NPP- 5, 6, 7)

European Parliament

Itonde Kakoma (CMG; NPP- 5, 6, 7, 9)

Interpeace

Laura Mitchell (NPP- 5, 6, 7, 12)

Norwegian Centre for Conflict Resolution

(NOREF)

Thomas Volk (NPP- 5, 6, 12)

Konrad Adenauer Foundation

Sara Vakhshouri (CMG; NPP - 5,7,12)

Center for Energy Security and Diplomacy,

The IWP, United States